The Ocean Course Tournament History

  • Rory McIlroy

  • Baddelley

  • Woods

August 2012 – Rory McIlroy shot a bogey-free 66 (−6) in the final round of the 2012 PGA Championship at The Ocean Course to win his second major title by eight strokes over runner-up David Lynn of England.

The victory margin was a record for the PGA Championship, surpassing the seven-stroke win in 1980 by Jack Nicklaus for his fifth PGA and seventeenth major title. The winner of the U.S. Open in 2011, also by eight strokes, McIlroy became the sixth-youngest winner of two majors at 23 years and 3 months. While Tiger Woods and Vijay Singh led after two rounds, they could not keep pace with the lad from Northern Ireland and finished tied for fifth and tenth respectively. The Ocean Course showed it’s teeth on Friday with winds gusting over 30mph and the field averaging over 78, the highest average of any day in the history of the PGA Championship.

  • Tom Watson in mid swing.

    Tom Watson
    Tom Watson, designer of the Cassique course on Kiawah Island, at the 68th Senior PGA Tournament Championship

  • Raymond Floyd tees off.

    Raymond Floyd
    Raymond Floyd tees off on the 11th Thursday afternoon

May 2007 ~ Denis Watson of Zimbabwe took advantage of Eduardo Romero’s late mistakes to win the Senior PGA Championship. Watson won his first title in 23 years and became the first international player to win the Senior PGA since Gary Player in 1990. Romero of Argentina had handled The Ocean Course’s famed sand dunes and Atlantic gusts the best of anyone the first three days. He was still ahead by two shots after birdies on the 11th and 12th holes which pushed him to 10 under. Then, aiming at a pin tucked on the back left of the 14th green, his ball plugged while Watson stuck his shot to a dozen feet. Romero had to take an unplayable lie and double bogeyed while Watson drained his birdie putt for a three shot swing en route to an ultimate two-stroke victory.

  • Mike Small

    Mike Small
    Winner of the 38th PGA Club Professional Championship

University of Illinois golf coach, Mike Small, charged from behind on Sunday to win the 38th PGA Club Professional Championship. Small concured the mighty Ocean Course with a 3-under par 69 to finish three shots ahead of runner-up Travis Long.

  • Champions

    Rory Sabbatini and Trevor Immelman celebrating after winning the 2003 World Cup

One of the four World Golf Championship events. South Africa duo Rory Sabbatini and Trevor Immelman held their nerve to win the WGC-World Cup at Kiawah Island. They began Sunday’s final round with a massive seven-shot lead and carded a one-over round of 73 to finish four clear on 275. The US team of Jim Furyk and Justin Leonard’s hopes collapsed on No. 13 when their tee shot found water.

  • Inaugural UBS Warburg Cup

    Inaugural UBS Warburg Cup

A 40-year-old and above Ryder Cup-format tournament with the U.S. defeating the Rest of the World team. The teams featured captains Palmer and Player and included such stars as: O’Meara, Nicklaus, Irwin, Strange, Floyd, Nelson, Lehman, Watson, Calcavecchia, Torrance, Aoki, Nobilo, Faldo, Woosnam and Langer among others.

  • Bunker Shot at the ’97 World Cup of Golf

    Bunker Shot at the ’97 World Cup of Golf

In balmy, calm conditions, many sub-par rounds were posted, demonstrating to critics that, with proper setup, the course wasn’t too difficult for a stroke-play tournament. The Irish team of Padraig Harrington and Paul McGinley won the team competition while Colin Montgomerie won the individual title.

Pitting Annika Sorenstam against Dotti Pepper – it is Shell’s WWG’s highest rated show that featured members of the LPGA.

  • U.S. Ryder Cup Team

    U.S. Ryder Cup Team
    Winners of the 1991 Ryder Cup at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Known as “The War by the Shore”. Called one of the top five tournaments of the decade by Golf World magazine and No. 18 of the most defining moments in the entire history of golf by Golf Digest magazine. For three days, the U.S. and European Ryder Cup Teams waged a memorable duel on the shores of Kiawah Island. After 28 matches and numerous lead changes, the moment to decide which team would secure the Ryder Cup trophy came down to a six-foot putt. Germany’s Bernhard Langer and America’s Hale Irwin approached the final green realizing the importance of their match. Irwin’s approach to the green flew wide right. He then chipped poorly and then putted to within a foot of the hole. Langer conceded Irwin’s bogey putt and followed by hitting his 45-foot birdie putt six-feet past the hole. Langer then struck his par putt that just missed the cup. The match was halved and America reclaimed the Ryder Cup that it has surrendered in 1985. Spain’s Seve Ballesteros and Jose Maria Olazabal continued their brillant pairing of the past with three victories and one halve. Fred Couples and Lanny Wadkins led their team with 3-1 records.